Special election early voting passes 500

Xavier Smith • Oct 25, 2017 at 12:29 PM

More than 500 Wilson County residents cast their vote through Tuesday in the Nov. 7 District 17 state Senate special election primaries.

The special election will fill a seat left vacant by Mae Beavers after she decided to resign her position to focus on her run for Tennessee governor.  

Tuesday saw 120 people cast their ballots in the special election, as the Election Commission Office in Lebanon and the Mt. Juliet Community Center had 62 and 24 voters, respectively. Monday, which saw 130 voters, represented the biggest single-day voter turnout for the special election, as polling places opened in Watertown and at Lighthouse Church in Mt. Juliet.

Of the 517 voters, 362 were Republican and 155 were Democrat.

Candidates for the seat include Mary Alice Carfi running unopposed in the Democrat primary and Mark Pody running unopposed in the Republican primary. 

Early voting runs Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. until 6 p.m. and Saturdays from 8 a.m. until 1 p.m. and ends Nov. 2 at the Wilson County Election Commission office at 203 E. Main St. in Lebanon and the Mt. Juliet Community Center at 1075 Charlie Daniels Pkwy. in Mt. Juliet. Early voting will be available at three additional locations through Saturday, including the Watertown Community Center at 8630 Sparta Pike in Watertown, Lighthouse Church at 6141 Saundersville Rd. in Mt. Juliet and the Gladeville Community Center at 95 McCreary Road in Gladeville. 

The primary Election Day will be Nov. 7. The voter registration deadline ahead of the primary was Oct. 10. Counties that make up District 17 include Wilson, Cannon, DeKalb, Smith and Macon.

The General Election will be Dec. 19, and the voter registration deadline is Nov. 20. Early voting for the General Election will be Nov. 29 through Dec. 14. 

Residents voting early or Nov. 7 should remember to bring valid photo identification. A driver’s license or photo identification issued by the Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security, as well as photo identification issued by Tennessee state government or the federal government are acceptable even if they are expired. College student identification will not be accepted.

Visit wilsoncountyvotes.com for more information.

Recommended for You

    Lebanon Democrat Videos