State CPA society awards scholarships to local students

Staff Reports • Updated Oct 12, 2017 at 6:00 PM

The Educational and Memorial Foundation of the Tennessee Society of Certified Public Accountants recently awarded scholarships to 38 Nashville area residents, including three students from Wilson County, for the current academic year.  

Included among the recipients were Amanda Rice, a Belmont University student from Lebanon, Margaret Coleman, a Middle Tennessee State University student from Mt. Juliet, and Joseph Kniazewycz, a Tennessee Technological University student from Mt. Juliet. 

The other recipients were Belmont University students Alexandra Perry, Olajuwon Cannon, Bridgette Barron and Ashley Francisco; Lipscomb University students Robert Glenn, Sarah King, Amy Ogle and Mikayla Smith; Middle Tennessee State University students Joshua Beaty, Molly Bell, Kevin Benderman, Sarah Bowen, Robert Canterbury, Jonathan Chandler, Bradley Cunningham, Bethany DeHaven, Marcus England, Shelby Follis, Kavin Ismail, Grace Langeland, Dennielle Pineda, Szilvia Riss, Hannah Samples, Ashley Shank, Charish Short, Kristin Uselton and Justin Woodard; Tennessee State University students Kathy Grant and Candice Patterson; Tennessee Technological University student Jordan Louth; Union University student Daniel Regan; University of Tennessee at Martin student Meredith McMasters; University of Memphis student Stacia Straughter; and University of Tennessee, Knoxville students Elise Taylor and Tucker McLain.

Five recipients received special recognition. Beaty, Benderman and Perry were three of four statewide winners of the prestigious King Foundation Scholarship Award. McMasters received the Paul Royston Scholarship Award given to the top senior accounting student in the state. Grant received the Bernie Goldstein Award, given to a top non-traditional accounting student attending a college or university in the Middle Tennessee area. The TSCPA Scholarship Awards Committee determined the awards.

TSCPA awarded $250,000 in scholarships to more than 100 students attending 17 colleges and universities throughout Tennessee this year.

To qualify for a TSCPA scholarship, candidates must complete introductory courses in accounting and/or be students majoring in accounting. Scholarship recipients were selected on the basis of academic achievement, professor recommendation, leadership skills and financial need. For more information about TSCPA’s annual scholarship program, visit tscpa.com.

TSCPA is the state professional organization for about 10,000 certified public accountants practicing in all areas of public accounting, education, government, business and industry. The Educational and Memorial Foundation of TSCPA is a nonprofit corporation that receives tax-deductible contributions to support its scholarship program for promising accounting students throughout Tennessee. TSCPA is headquartered in Brentwood.

Recommended for You

    Lebanon Democrat Videos