no avatar

Less than week remains to register to vote

Caitlin Rickard crickard@lebanondemocrat.com • Updated Jul 1, 2014 at 11:36 PM

The last day to register for the upcoming August election is next week.

State law mandates voter registration must end 30 days before each election, so Tuesday will mark the last day to register to vote for the Aug. 7 federal and state Republican and Democrat primaries and the Wilson County general election.

Additionally, the last day to request an absentee ballot will be July 31.

Other dates to note will be the early voting period, which is set for July 18 thru Aug. 2. 

Hours for early voting will be Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. until 6 p.m. and Saturday from 8 a.m. until 1 p.m. 

Early voting locations will be available at the Wilson County Election Commission Office at 203 E. Main St. in Lebanon, the Mt. Juliet Community Center at 1075 Charlie Daniels Parkway, the Gladeville Community Center at 95 McCreary Rd. and the Watertown Community Center at 8630 Sparta Pike. 

A representative of the Election Commission will be available at Mt. Juliet City Hall at 2425 N. Mt. Juliet Rd. from 8 a.m. until 5 p.m. on Monday and Tuesday to assist individuals who may need to update their registration and provide an opportunity for residents to register for the Aug. 7 election.

For Aug. 7 voting, there are 31 polling places throughout Wilson County.

Voting hours on Election Day will be 7 a.m. until 7 p.m.

According to Wilson County Election Commission’s sample ballot, candidates and races set on the ballot include:

Governor – Republican

• Mark Coonrippy Brown, Bill Haslam, Basil Marceaux Sr., Donald Ray McFolin, Charles “Charlie” Brown, Kennedy Spellman Johnson, WM H. “John” McKamey and Ron Noonan.

U.S. House of Representatives – 6th Congressional District – Republican

• Diane Black (I) and Jerry Lowery.

U.S. House of Representatives – 6th Congressional District – Democrat 

• Amos Scott Powers.

U.S. Senate – Republican

• Christian Agnew, Lamar Alexander (I), Joe Carr, George Shea Flinn, John D. King, Brenda S. Lenard, Erin Kent Magee, Terry Adams, Gordan Ball, Larry Crim and Gary Gene Davis.

State Senate – District 17 – Republican

• Mae Beavers (I) and Clark Boyd.

State Representative – District 46 – Republican 

• Mark Pody (I).

State Representative – District 46 – Democrat

• Candace Reed.

State Representative – District 57 – Republican

• Susan Lynn (I).

State Representative – District 57 – Democrat 

• Jesse McLevain.

Republican State Executive Committeeman – District 17

• Dwayne Craighead and Albert McCall.

Republican State Executive Committeewoman – District 17 

• Pat Fields, Yvonne G. Hunter and Jennifer Winfree.

Democrat State Executive Committeeman – District 17

• Bob Black and Aubrey Givens.

Democrat State Executive Committeewoman – District 17

• Rachel Givens.

Circuit Court Judge – 15th Judicial District – Division I

• Clara Byrd (I).

Circuit Court Judge – 15th Judicial District – Division II

• Aubrey Givens and John D. Wootten Jr. (I).

Chancellor – 15th Judicial District 

C.K. Smith (I)  and Gordon C. Aulgur.

Criminal Court Judge – 15th Judicial District

• Brian Fuller and Brody Kane.

District Attorney General – 15th Judicial District

• Tommy Thompson (I).

Public Defender – 15th Judicial District

• Comer Donnell (I).

County Mayor

• Randall Hutto (I).

Wilson County Commissioner – District 1

• Becky Siever (I)  and Scott Leslie.

Wilson County Commissioner – District 2

• Adam Bannach (I).

Wilson County Commissioner – District 3

• Bobby Franklin and Paul Harvey.

Wilson County Commissioner – District 4

• Chad Barnard (I)  and Sam Bodock Saylors.

Wilson County Commissioner – District 5

• Jerry McFarland (I).

Wilson County Commissioner – District 6

• Kenny Reich (I)  and Kevin Graves.

Wilson County Commissioner – District 7

• Scott Brady, Joshua Hinerman and Terry L. Scruggs (I).

Wilson County Commissioner – District 8 

Frank Bush (I) and Terry Duncan

Wilson County Commissioner – District 9 

• Gary Tarpley, Sara B. Patton (I), Jason Haley and James Copas.

Wilson County Commissioner – District 10

• Dan Walker.

Wilson County Commissioner – District 11 

• John P. Gentry.

Wilson County Commissioner – District 12 

• Terry McPeak, Terry Ashe and John Szente.

Wilson County Commissioner – District 13 

• Clint Thomas (I) and Sonja L. Robinson.

Wilson County Commissioner – District 14 

• Jeff Joines (I) and Jason Henry.

Wilson County Commissioner – District 15 

• Mike Justice (I)

Wilson County Commissioner – District 16 

Jason D. Brockman (I) and Diane Weathers.

Wilson County Commissioner – District 17 

• Gary Keith (I).

Wilson County Commissioner – District 18 

• Terry Muncher (I).

Wilson County Commissioner – District 19

• William A. Glover III (I) and Dennis Little.

Wilson County Commissioner – District 20 

• Annette Davis-Stafford (I).

Wilson County Commissioner – District 21 

• Cindy Forbes Brown and Eugene Murray (I).

Wilson County Commissioner – District 22 

J. Wendell Marlowe (I) and John Jankowich.

Wilson County Commissioner – District 23

• Bernie Ash (I), Robert C. Pelt and Sue Vanatta.

Wilson County Commissioner – District 24 

Paul D. Abercrombie (I) and Joy Bishop.

Wilson County Commissioner – District 25

• Jim Emberton, Randy Hall (I), John Wayne Hamblen and Luther C. Lenning.

County Trustee 

• Nick Hays and Jim Major (I).

General Sessions Judge – Division I

• Barry Tatum (I).

General Sessions Judge – Division II

• Shelley Thompson Gardner, Haywood Barry, Andy Wright, Ellis H. Marshall III and Harry A. Christiansen.

General Sessions Judge – Division III 

• John T. Gwin (I).


• Robert C. Bryan (I).

Circuit Court Clerk

Bud Brandon, Debbie Moss, Felicia Plumlee Hale and Jeff Dickson.

County Clerk

• Jim Goodall (I).

Register of Deeds

• John ‘Bev’ Spickard (I).

Wilson County School Board – Zone 2

• Bill Robinson (I).

Wilson County School Board – Zone 4

• Linda Armistead, Sam Green and Ron Britt (I).

Wilson County School Board – Zone 5

• Larry Tomlinson (I).

Constable – Zone 1

• Jacob Austin, William Robert Manley and David Shepard.

Constable – Zone 2

• Wesley W. Thompson III.

Constable – Zone 3

• Glenn Oco Hamblen.

Constable – Zone 4

• Jenny Lenning-Faulk.

Constable – Zone 5

• Ronnie Greer.

Lebanon Special School District

• Andy E. Brummett (I).

As of Tuesday, there were 63,745 registered active voters in Wilson County.

Voter registration forms, information about voting and other election-related topics are accessible on the Election Commission website at wilsonelections.com.

Recommended for You