Wilson FOP endorses candidates

Staff Reports • Dec 17, 2015 at 6:41 PM

The Wilson County Fraternal Order of Police Sam Houston Lodge No. 71 announced its endorsements Friday for the Aug. 7 election. 

“This year these races will have an impact on the law enforcement community like none other in recent history,” said Mt. Juliet Officer David Stolinsky, president of the FOP lodge. “We are pleased to announce our support for these candidates and would like to thank all the candidates for participating in our process of endorsement. We ask the community at large to support your local law enforcement by voting for these candidates Aug. 7.” 

The Wilson County FOP lodge represents officers from the Wilson County Sheriff’s Office, Mt. Juliet Police Department, Lebanon Police Department, Tennessee Highway Patrol, 15th Judicial Drug Task Force and federal agencies housed in Wilson County.

For Wilson County mayor, the group endorsed Randall Hutto, along with Tommy Thompson for district attorney, Robert Bryan for sheriff, Clara Byrd for circuit court judge, Comer Donnell for public defender, Barry Tatum for Division I general sessions judge and John Gwin for Division III general sessions judge. Each is unopposed in the upcoming election. 

The FOP group also endorsed Felicia Hale for court clerk, John D. Wootten Jr. for criminal court judge, C.K. Smith for chancellor and Andy Wright for Division II general sessions judge. Each has opposition in the upcoming election. 

Recommended for You