Wilson Agriculture Hall of Fame to induct new members

Staff Reports • Dec 17, 2015 at 5:59 PM

The Wilson County Agricultural Hall of Fame will induct six new members during its banquet April 1 at the Ward Agricultural Center in Lebanon. 


The eighth annual class of inductees includes Raymond Evans, JoAnn Evans, James C. Johnson, Ed Rice Sr., Ed Rice Jr. and Cliff Ricketts. 


“The purpose of the Wilson County Agricultural Hall of Fame is to recognize citizens of Wilson County who have made a significant impact on agriculture in Wilson County, Tennessee, nationally or worldwide” said Hale Moss, chairman of the Wilson County Agricultural Hall of Fame. “We felt the time was right to pay tribute to these very deserving individuals. Each has made significant contributions to Wilson County agriculture, as well as Wilson County in general.”


Area Future Farmers of American and 4-H Members will serve as ushers for the event.  


Other hall of fame board members include Ben Powell, vice chairman; Keith Harrison, secretary; Diane Major, treasurer; Ruth Correll and Jeffrey Turner. The organizers established a nonprofit status for the organization to enable it to raise money to be used to establish a building on the Ward Agricultural Center to be dedicated to the individuals inducted into the Wilson County Agricultural Hall of Fame.  


“Any funds raised over and above the costs of putting on the annual banquet will be set aside for the building,” Major said.


Tickets for the banquet can be bought from Major by calling 615-444-1890, ext 3. The cost is $15 each. Jordan’s Catering will prepare the meal. Area businesses interested in becoming sponsors may also contact Major. 


“We want the entire agricultural community in our county to come together to recognize these deserving individuals April 1,” Moss said. “We owe these folks a great deal of gratitude for everything they have done for agriculture. We hope our community will come together and join in the celebration.”


In 2007, a group of Wilson County residents came together to form the Wilson County Agricultural Hall of Fame. Agriculture was a cornerstone of Wilson County since the day it was formed in 1799. To recognize the contributions of the many people involved in agriculture to the community, the Wilson County Agricultural Hall of Fame was organized. Each year, several Wilson County residents are recognized at a banquet to bring attention to agriculture’s prominent place in Wilson County.

Recommended for You